

SCADA Award 2020 - Introducing this year's winners

The American Association for Dental Research (AADR) and Dentsply Sirona presented awards to the winners of the Student Competition for Advancing Dental Research and its Application Awards (SCADA) program. The global student competition, which is celebrated every year, is aimed at the next generation of dental professionals and inspires students to look for new methods to positively influence dental treatment and oral health. During the last 61 years, SCADA has grown to become a globally recognized program with more than 8,500 participants from 28 countries.

Due to the to the worldwide COVID-19 outbreak, the difficult but necessary decision was made to cancel the IADR/AADR/CADR General Session & Exhibition scheduled for March 18-21, 2020 in Washington, DC, USA. Nevertheless, the 2020 winners of the SCADA program were recognized with the same amount of recognition as every year, for their research achievements.

All US dental schools were invited to nominate a student to participate in the research competition, and 51 students submitted a complete portfolio for review to an international panel of experts in one of two categories: 29 students in Category 1: Clinical Science and Public Health Research and 22 students in Category 2: Basic and Translational Science. Each student was required to submit an electronic copy of his/her poster, a slide presentation, and a video oral research presentation.

First place recognition in Category 1 was received by Patrick Donnelly, University of Pittsburgh, followed by Kathryn Teruya, University of Missouri - Kansas City and Taylor Robertson, University of Detroit Mercy.

In Category 2 awards were presented to Tanner Godfrey, University of Alabama at Birmingham, Blake LeTendresse, Creighton University, Eric Mullins, University of Nevada, Las Vegas and Madison Aungst, University of Colorado.

Beyond the SCADA Student Competition four additional awards were presented by the SCADA Board of Directors:

- Alan J. Davis / SCADA Achievement Award: Rada Sumareva, private practice, Chief Operating Officer at Ziphycare
- Henry M. Thornton SCADA Fellowship Awards: Nisarg Patel, University of California, San Francisco; Lauren Katz, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
- Burton C. Borgelt / SCADA Faculty Advisor Award: Pandu Gangula, Meharry Medical College
- ADA Foundation/Dentsply Sirona Research Award: Joy Kirkpatrick
- SCADA Past President Award: Yoko Ishida-Okumura, Niigata University Graduate School of Medical and Dental Sciences, Japan



We would like to congratulate all SCADA 2020 winners on their awards and we look forward to resuming the SCADA competition and awards program in 2021 in Boston, USA.